About Us

The South Australian Community Broadcasters Association Incorporated is the peak body for community broadcasters in South Australia.

Originally known as SAPBA (when Community broadcasting was known as Public broadcasting), we were formed on the 9th of April 1980 at a meeting of 5EBI, 5MMM (now Three D Radio) and 5UV (now Radio Adelaide) at The Box Factory in Adelaide. In 1988 SAPBA became SANTAPB, to reflect the growing number of Northern Territory stations joining, but over time those NT stations formed their own group. When the 1993 changes to the Broadcasting Services Act altered the name of Public broadcasting to Community broadcasting we became SACBA.

Our members are community stations and groups aspiring to be community stations, from across South Australia or just over the SA border (some station’s licence areas cross state borders).  The vast majority (92%) of SA community stations are members of SACBA.

Our board consists of highly experienced volunteers from our member stations, who stand for election at the annual general meeting held during the state conference. As well as planning the strategic direction of SACBA, board members provide the majority of services to member stations, organise the state conference and the Bilby Awards. SACBA does not have any physical office space or paid employees.

We receive funding from the Community Broadcasting Foundation (CBF) which assists us to hold the annual state conference, Bilby Awards dinner and also visit member stations; to provide assistance in areas such as technical, equipment, governance, training, fundraising and grant writing.

We hold an extensive equipment bank that gives member stations the opportunity to try out new equipment as well as providing back up equipment for emergencies.

The SACBA board are:
Charlotte Bedford,  President: info@sacba.org.au
Guillaume Vetu, Vice President: info@sacba.org.au
Nikki Marcel, Secretary: info@sacba.org.au
Tim Borgas, Treasurer: 0411 243 471 treasurer@sacba.org.au
Paul Davies: info@sacba.org.au
Tiffany Stodart: info@sacba.org.au
Indi Wood: info@sacba.org.au