Bilby Awards 2012

The SACBA Bilby Awards celebrate the contribution community radio makes to our community and encourages high achievement within the sector.

Winners of the 2012 Bilby Awards:

Can’t Get Out Of The Car

Winner – Coast FM, Adelaide Cane Toads the Conquest, interview by Diana Taylor

Runners Up

  • Fresh FM, Adelaide, The Old Fella with Big Al
  • Radio Adelaide, Adelaide Live performance by Fred Smith, Tim Brunero
Best Interview

Winner – Fresh FM, Adelaide Nile Rodgers interview with Jim Anderson aka Dave Collins

Runners Up

  • Coast FM Adelaide Bob Francis, Kiss My Arse with Steve McNally
  • Trax FM Port Pirie Mark Gable interview with John Rohde
Best Outside Broadcast

Winner – Radio Adelaide, Adelaide Survival Day – Radio Adelaide staff and volunteers

Runner up – 5GTR Mount Gambier Cancer Council relay for Life – 5GTR volunteers

Best Coverage Of A Sporting Event within your community

Winner – Trax FM Port Pirie The Trax FM Football Team

Runner Up – 5GTR Mount Gambier Nathan Butler and Scott Dickson

Best Local Music Program

Winner – Fresh FM, Adelaide Fresh Air – Dan Tedge

Runner Up – Coast FM, Adelaide Orange Blossom Special with Christine

Best Message

Winner – Coast FM, Adelaide Karin Petrus and Chris Carpenter, sponsorship message

Runner Up – Rox FM, Roxby Downs Noo and Zak, The Downward Spiral

Best Community Event

Winner – Coast FM, Coast FM Open Day

Runners up

  • Triple B, Triple B Barossa radio open day
  • ROX FM, Roxby Downs J-Lowe and JT Exposed
Small Station of the Year

This award is in recognition of the innovation and hard work of a small station. That’s not to say a large station is easier, it’s about the uniqueness of a small station and how they work with their communities – whether it’s a large community of which they are just a small part, or a small community that has to share the load in a small population and between a small number of volunteers.
The winner of the small station of the year award – Rox FM, Roxby Downs

Volunteer of the Year

The nominees for Volunteer of the Year were:

  • The Doran family, ROX FM
  • Brett Prince, Triple Y
  • Jay Antony, Fresh 92.7
  • Sonia Kisielecki, Gulf FM
  • Martin Goodman, Radio Adelaide
  • Janet Finnis-Hare, 5GTR
  • Graham Johnston, Trax FM
  • Sandie McConnell, Triple B FM

Congratulations to you all, well done, we acknowledge your commitment to community radio, and your station says thanks for all you do.

Joint winners Volunteers of the Year

  • Sonia Kisielecki, Gulf FM
  • Brett Prince, Triple Y